3rd person Playmobil sword-fighting game

Hey!

Ive been learning and experimenting with UE4 for a little while now, and made a video to show my progress.

Im not really planning on making a full game from what you see here, but I am using this to create the core mechanics such as the movement and combat system, which can be used in later games.

Here you can find my description of the combat system I am working on.

https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?65263-Advanced-Sword-Combat-System-(Help-welcomed)

If you like what you see feel free to send me a message and let me know what you think.

I would also love to get people involved with the creation of the combat system If anyone is interested. I am only an animator, so anyone is welcome to help :slight_smile:

This looks fantastic. Really fluid and dynamic and, like, just fun to play and look at. Would you be willing to share (or even charge for) this when you feel it’s ready?

Hey thanks man! That means a lot. Its really simple actually, and its not something I feel the need to keep a secret, as Ive shown the Blueprints in the video. So no, I doubt I would charge for this, but hey once I perfect everything including the combat then who knows. It uses the built in movement component, which in my mind is a good choice, since I could eventually replicate it over the network for multi-player (Distant future). I had thought about using root motion for the movement of the capsule, so I could eliminate most foot sliding, but then I would lose some control over movement. So all I had to do was figure out good speeds for the capsule movement, (I use 150 centimeters per second for walk, 300 centimeters per second for run, and 600 centimeters per second for sprint) and create the animations in Maya to move at those speeds, so everything looks good and there is minimal foot sliding.