3DS Max or Maya?

I’m just beginning to animate and I’m at a crossroads. From your expert, (or experienced) opinions, which platform is better for Animating?

Id say go with maya. Its animation tools are pretty well developed and its fairly easy to write more useful tools as you go.
Besides it has the ART from epic themselves which exists to help with rigging and animation for UE4 assets.

Why not Blender ?

Neither is bad. Personally, I like 3ds Max, but that’s because that’s the first tool I learned so I have the most experience with it.
If you have friends or mentors that use a particular tool, you absolutely want to use that tool, so you have an easier time getting questions answered!

Thanks for the responses, I also plan to use these for modelling as well, can anyone shed some light on that?

What do you mean having a landlord? Does Maya take royalties too?

Oh. subscription just killed all of my dreams. I’d rather not spend money when programs like Blender are available for free, and have a wide range of tools. I do have C4D and I have Blender, but im not sure which one would be optimal for UE4.

If given the two choices I would say 3ds Max only because I’ve been using 3ds Max for years. :wink:

If your looking for a serious tool though hands down MotionBuilder is the twenty pound sludge hammer when it comes to managing animations but will still need a 3d host app.

Thanks for the resposne my choices are now Maya, Blender Or C4D.