3DMAX > UDK (Mass Exporting Problem)

*Hello everyone, before I begin this post I would like to say hello to everyone here. I am very new to this community and look to get active in the world of game development and UDK. I have had some experience of game design before and UDK is a big step for me, so I am going to be learning loads! Anyway, now that is out the way, let’s begin.
I have been trying to remaster a map from Quake into UDK for a visual project. I am using 3DS Max, a program created by Autodesk. I took the map from the older engine (.BSP file) and converted it into a .OBJ for 3DS MAX. Once in 3DS Max, it allows me to select every single little aspect of the map, and isn’t grouped.

Screen capture - 623f31b958a0ee4e5a25539d6e185b02 - Gyazo - See how every little bit of the map is separate? This would be perfect for texture re-assignment within UDK.

Anyway, I am aiming to export every single aspect of the map so that I can assign textures within UDK.

However, this happens…

Screen capture - 6ce86a4cc4058037269d59d8bb50561f - Gyazo - Everything has grouped together! Well, kind of, It seems to have combined multiple meshes together, have no idea why though, because one, I am a noob and two, all of the meshes were separate in 3DS Max (Such as pieces of the roads being separate)

So here is what I want to find out UDK Community :slight_smile:

I want to find out how to export every single mesh from any program (doesn’t have to be 3DS Max) into UDK, so that I can assign textures to the map and so everything is separate such as an individual window to a building within Unreal.

Thank you so much, If anybody needs further information, I will be looking at the comments all day!

• Thank you, James <3

In 3ds Max you have those meshes all attached to a single object, you need to detach each element to a separate object (there are scripts for this if you do a maxscript search)