2D Game Animations: Exporting FBX from Blender/NIMA vs. creating .pngs into flipbooks in engine

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to Unreal Engine (and game making in general) but I have been playing with the blueprints and Paper2D. I’ve been wanting to do something with my drawings and photoshop creations and decided a 2D game would be a fun project to start building. I know how to set up a character with basic movements/attacks and how to create flipbooks from .PNG files, but I have a few questions (Sorry if these are very elementary):

1: What is the difference between exporting FBX files from a program like Blender vs. creating “keyframe” snapshots in .PNG files and assembling a flipbook for a 2D game ? I may just not fully understand what an .FBX file is/does.

2: Does anyone have experience with using NIMA (or Flare) with Unreal Engine 4? I believe it is a relatively new and underutilized program, so there isnt much help online.

2a: If so, would you recommend NIMA over Blender? If so, how does NIMA export to Unreal? Just in C++ code? Would I just copy that code and place it in Unreal somehow?

Thank you for any and all help. Im

.FBX is an Autodesk file format used mostly for 3d information.
It can certainly be used to move and animate a 2d plane as well. As far as end results go I’m not sure it’s quite the same at all.
As far as why blender uses FBX goes… essentially the Autodesk file format has become the default file format supported by everything (because it’s easy to write I believe).

I think that what program you choose depends vastly on what you are trying to achieve.
If you are going for that streetfighter feel you need sprites rather then a 3d model or a 3d program.