2700x vs 8700k vs 9900k

Hi Unreal community,

I am going to buy a new desktop and have been thinking of starting developing in UE. I have some experience in other game design engines but not this one.

Due to the fact, that development will include dealing with graphic design tools, IDE, render, etc, I am wondering if I should bet on AMD ryzen 2700x or Intel i8700k.

I have the money for 9900k but the thermal behavior of this new CPU has made me to almost not consider it as an option.

Anyway, feel free to recommend which CPU I should buy: 2700x, 8700K, 9900K?

Tasks: building, rendering when needed, modelling, coding, etc. And also sometimes play to BF5 jeje.

GPU is likely to be a RTX 2080 or GTX 1080ti.

Thanks for your wise advise.

If you work more than you game go for AMD, if you cannot live with inferior performance AMD (like 5 FPS less) then go for superior gaming solution that is Intel.

My next CPU will be AMD no matter the cost (of overpriced intel)

If you can afford it then for Intel get a LGA 2066 CPU like the i7-9800X or the i7-7820X that both have a street price not much higher than the 9900K. And you would get QuadChannel DDR4 support… 32GB RAM is the bare minimum to really work with UE4 with no issues or slowdowns.
For AMD get a Threadripper that has QuadChannel DDR4 support like the 1920X

I can live with that inferior performance in exchange for 2 more cores and 4 threads, if AMD works better for Unity and game development.

I am in a hurry to buy new build. I could wait to new threadripper, especially 2920x, but not easy to wait until they release 9800x, check reviews, etc.

Thanks dudes.

What about 9900K? Is it worth? Or it is a really powerful CPU but with really hot temperatures? That is something makes me wondering.

aaaaaaaaaaaaa

I work more than play games, but for development with UE4 or Unity or other tools, 2700x also??