2.5D Camera mouselook

Hello,

I want to create a mouselook for the sidescroller template which should work something like this:

Anybody have an idea how to do it?

Thanks!

You may have to take into account the player’s resolution if for some reason the pointer can leave the bounds of the screen, but it seems relatively easy to do without error. Here’s the thoughts off the top of my head.

Make it so the camera targets the exact center point between the pointer and the character. This will make it so if the pointer is on the character, the camera will also be on the character and when the pointer is on the edge of the screen it will create the exact image you see.

I’m not sure all the blueprint nodes that would handle that, but you’ll want to

1. save the player’s location and pointer location every tick.
  2. calculate the distance between them.
  3. divide that distance by 2.
  4. move the camera to that location.

Thanks Quartaroy, but I forgot to mention that I’m a total noob at blueprints, so I kinda confused and don’t know how to do it exactly.

Do you think it is possible to attach mouse X and Y parameters to a math equation and the results of that will become Camera Y and Z parameters, while the camera stays parented to the character? I’ve tried to do it, but failed - don’t know which nodes to use etc.

I’ll see if I can give you a screenshot when I figure it out. Worked on it a few days ago, was having issues, as it has some bugs with the way I thought of doing it. The camera works to the right fine, but doesn’t like going left. My math seems to be off a little.

Novice here too, but I was able to get some control like this using the Hud BP, to get the screen position of characters and the mouse.

For the mouse, first you need the get a player controller node, then use the get mouse position node.

For characters, I used the Project node.

You might link a dummy to the player, and add the screen XY coordinates to it’s 3DVector.