Open the Android Photo Gallery and get photo

Hi guys

How can i get a photo from Android Device.

i want to open Android Gallery of photos and pick one and send back to my game.

i saw that post How to access iOS photo library / use Objective-C properly? - Plugins - Unreal Engine Forums

but i’m a newbie on c++ until now i dont know how to convert that code to work on Android

plz help

Hi ArkanSephin,

This involves adding code on the Java side to trigger the intent like this:

public void AndroidThunkJava_OpenGallery()
	{
             Intent Intent = new Intent(Intent.ACTION_PICK, android.provider.MediaStore.Images.Media.EXTERNAL_CONTENT_URI);
             startActivityForResult(galleryIntent, RESULT_LOAD_IMG);
	}

You would add this to GameActivity.java and add C++ calling in AndroidJNI.h and AndroidJNI.cpp to this method. To get the picked image you’d need to check in onActivityResult() for requestCode == RESULT_LOAD_IMG, resultCode == RESULT_OK, and data != null. The data then would need to be resolved to get access to the image and fed back to C++ depending on what you wanted to do with it.

Hm… i’ll try
i’m newbie on c++ but i think i can do
thx for replay

Hey I am trying to do the same thing and I was wondering if anyone has successfully implemented this since this was first posted? As a fellow newbie to c++ and Android development, I found this article helpful for understanding Android Intents: Android Intents - Tutorial

From what I understand, developing for Android requires Java. When developing through Unreal, do we ever need to touch Java, or does the c++ compile into/call the necessary Java code?

Wish this was a built in blueprint function of the engine as would love to do something similar as well…