UE4 to Blender, export UE4 animations as .fbx

I’m fairly new to these tools, so its possible I am missing something but I am just wondering if anyone has been able to successfully export any of the provided animation files from UE4 (HeroTPP/Owen/ASP) to Blender and been able to play them in Blender? I wanted to attempt to try and create some variations of a few of the provided examples that are setup to hold guns.

Just recently with a updated nightly build (testbuild-blender-2.71-f2597ab-win64), I’ve been able to successfully import character models (mesh & armature) to Blender from UE4, but when I’ve tried importing an .fbx file that UE4 created from an animation all I see is the armature in the normal T-Pose with a single frame. I’ve also tried using the Autodesk converter to get it into a DAE file, but that method seems to corrupt the data cause when it imports back into UE4 as an .fbx the HeroTPP seems to have multiple heads and no shoulders. In addition when viewing the exported .fbx file it will not play in the Autodesk viewer, but appears to be in one of the frames that were in the animation.

Maya is not an option for me because I am working on what I hope will someday be a commercial product and don’t have the money for it.

I can speak to this a little. Although our artists have standardized on Maya, I personally am much more comfortable in Blender, so have done a fair bit of work with UE4 and Blender.

Blender FBX support has, historically, not been very good. The FBS SDK that games and commercial applications use to import FBX can’t be used with Blender, even though it’s free, because the license terms are not compatible with Blender’s GPL. As a result, Blender support for FBX is custom-written and created by reverse-engineering the format. The FBX format changes a little every year, however, so it’s a moving target and they’re unlikely to ever have full FBX support of all features.