How can I use Blueprints to create a strafing animation?

Hello world!

First post on the UE4 community, and I’m happy to be here.

So I’m working on a locomotion package for UE4, and I want to basically backwards engineer the ThirdPerson preset to include strafing animations. Binding these to the Q and E would be optimal, but I’m not even sure where to start with this!

Any help would be extremely appreciated, as I am really new to Blueprint and UE4 for that matter, thanks guys!

PS. I can provide pictures of my blueprints, but they are identical to the TPP defaults.

ok i’d advise you have a look at the shooter game demo, in there there’s an example of the 3rd person which then uses a blendspace2d to blend between forward/backward & left/right running anims.

you’ll also find more on the controlls.
ps you might want to check the fps template (pick and mix)

B-e-a-utiful! Thanks for the advice Geodav.

I was able to get strafing working, but it’s a very hacky approach that utilizes both Keypresses InputAxis controls. It was enough to get visualization of the feel, but I definitely want to do it “The Correct Way” so I’ll check out the other packs for reference :smiley:

Another Question on the subject.

It seems the TPP uses Velocity to blend from Idle to Walk and eventually to Run in the default setup.

If one was to try to achieve the same with a full blendspace but with strafing, what do you imagine they would use with Strafe?

For my project i use velocity only from my character, and convert it’s to Forward and Right value, the strafe it will be on X-Axis

4571-blendspace.png

i personnally use a copy of the shooter game blendscape which works well for me using direction and speed, these are set in the event graph of the character animblueprint.

but as you can see blow there’s many ways to skin a cat :wink:

So I’ll attach my EventGraph and Character BP just for clarification.