First person spectator camera

Hi,

I’m doing a project for school, and I am struggling with blueprints.
What I want to achieve with networking is, while someone is playing a FPS character as the server, every client which are connecting to the server spawn as a first person spectator camera seeing what the server player is doing.

I would use this setup for a VR Showcase, in order to allow the audience to see what the VR player is doing in game.

I guess it’s easily doable but I’m a noob with BPs, and I could not figure it out. Even after reading the documentation and exploring First Person Shooter example and UT BPs.

Some assistance would be greatly appreciated !

It’s fairly straightforward actually. Give me some time untl i return to my pc and I’ll post you a proper answer with intructions.

Thanks !
It would be really helpful.

Ok, the best way I think would be to start all players with spectator pawns and let the server one switch to a playable character later on. It is also possible to set up spectator/player classes properly as in a regular competitive FPS, but no need for it right now.

Start with the Default Pawn (it comes with the engine and is set by default if you ) set as your character in the Game Mode. Then spawn a playable character from the server blueprint (you can put a has authority switch to check if it’s indeed the server) and get your player controller to possess it.

Back again

So I did what you suggested, and indeed it works fine. Everyone connecting to the game spawn as a spectator and only the host can possess the character pawn.

Now I struggle with the first person camera thing.
I tried to create an camera actor, and then to attach it to my playable character pawn. Obviously it’s tied to the mesh and not the actual camera of the character pawn.

So far I was unable to replicate the camera view of my playable character pawn to the other camera actor.
Any idea?