Code Third Person - Multiplayer

Hey Guys,

So I have started a new project with the Code Third Person startup kit, I was reading about replication and how the pawns are automatically synched if replication is enabled, so I start two clients on one client I can move with point and click fine, on the other client however no pawn is loaded and instead the camera just stays in the middle of the level, I know both clients are connected because when on the client which has the pawn loaded I move to a location in front of the camera on client B I can see that the pawn is being synched properly.

On another note disabling the playercontroller and defaultpawn override in C++ actually makes it work, both clients connect to eachother in first person.

So my question is, what am I doing wrong? And why isnt the same process that creates the pawn for the first client not creating the pawn on the second connect client?

I am fairly new to Unreal so this is probably something trivial I have missed out.

Thank you.

Elyanar - can you try this: move the first client away from the starting spawn point, then type ‘reconnect’ on the second client. I noticed a bug in the third person code template where respawning doesn’t retry if the initial attempts. This is a work around until that bug can be fixed.

I was having this problem too, this does indeed fix it. Is there a way to setup a different spawn point for each client that connects?

At a quick glance, just adding a new spawn point doesn’t fix the issue. The problem is in the actual spawning / player controller state machine code (The server is never trying extra spawn points, or trying to respawn when the client clicks). I will need to dig a little deeper. This is working in some of our other games (Shooter game for example).

That seems to be a problem, although I dont know how there must be a way to assign another spawnpoint or a spawn position. Thank you very much for the help!