Workaround for UE-173626?

I’ve been trying to get worldspace UI working, but no matter what I did I could only click buttons once, after which they got stuck in the hover state. I’ve spent the last week trying to understand what I was doing wrong. I finally narrowed the problem down to the fact that the input was completing even though I was still holding the button down, which lead me to search unreal engine "enhanced input" "press pointer key" as a last desperate attempt to figure this out.

Turns out, it’s a bug. Like, for real, wtf. How is it only scheduled for fixing in 5.2?? As far as I can see, it’s a 100% blocker for any worldspace UI interactions. That sounds like a pretty ■■■■ critical bug to me and should be a high-priority hotfix.

I’m new to UE (not game engines generally) but I can’t think of a way around it. How is everyone else getting around this issue?

The issue you are describing, where the input completes even though you are still holding the button down, is indeed a known bug in Unreal Engine 5.1 related to the Enhanced Input System (EIS). This bug can cause problems with worldspace UI interactions, as you have experienced. Unfortunately, this bug is scheduled to be fixed in version 5.2 of the engine.

As you’ve pointed out, this bug is a 100% blocker for any worldspace UI interactions. In the meantime, there are a few ways to work around this issue:

• One possible workaround is to use the traditional input system instead of the Enhanced Input System. This can be done by disabling the “Use Enhanced Input System” option in the Project Settings.
  • Another workaround is to use the “Press Pointer Key” node instead of the “Pressed” node in your Blueprint logic. This node allows you to check if the button is being pressed but also check if the button is being held down.
  • You can also use a custom C++ code to handle the button press events, and monitor the input state by yourself, to check if the button is being pressed or held.