[4.7.6][Bug] "Run on Owning Client" just doesn't work

I am trying to have the server send an RPC to each client that joins the game.

I have setup the following in the playerController:

Here are the replication functions for the function:

44019-run_on_owning_client2.png

…and this is what I get in the log when I have 1 server and 2 clients:

LogBlueprintUserMessages: Server: Authority is granting power

LogBlueprintUserMessages: Server: Got Grant Power Command

LogBlueprintUserMessages: Server: Authority is granting power

LogBlueprintUserMessages: Server: Got Grant Power Command

The RPC never executes on the client (notice all the messages are from the server only).

What am I doing wrong?

You know, I studied this article “[How to Replicate Function in Blueprints][3]” REALLY thoroughly, re-created it, dissected it, put breakpoints everywhere to study it…

From what I can see, it looks like the only reason the client in that tutorial is getting a message at all is because at the very end of the line, you are using variable replication to set the “Inventory” variable – that’s what’s causing the value to be changed, not the function. In fact, it looks like in this tutorial, the “Add Item” is still getting called on the server.

From what I’m seeing, it looks like server-to-client RPCs are not available at all in UE 4.

Is that true?

In PlayerController, only after the GameMode PostLogin event is fired may RPCs be used. Where are you calling the custom event “AssignPowers”? If this is called from Begin Play, the Controller might not be correctly initialized yet. It is then better to create a custom event “Post Login” which will be called by the PostLogin event on a custom GameMode.

The “AssignPowers” is being called after a 2-second delay in my playerCharacter class (behind an authority guard). The controller must be initialized because I can move the player around and see it replicated on other clients in that 2-second window.