Question about the pros and cons of realistic versus cartoony graphics.

Actually the title says it all really. I would love to hear insight of any type on this subject, but I will clarify my meaning below. Don’t hesitate to throw in your thoughts, even if it doesn’t actually address my question!! just put yourself in my shoes and if it seems like I would gain from your info on this subject, throw it out there.

First off I am new to game development, and, like a lot of people I have an idea for a game, which I would like to develop.

In my game you would play an animal that wanders around a natural/nature environment. Maybe a small “continent” or island that has a variety of climes like “desert”, “forest”, “mountain”, etc. There would be other animals, but no humans or buildings.(imagine DayZ or H1Z1 except you are an animal, there are natural predators instead of zombies, and it takes place away from all civilization). The game would be full 3D either way.

This is an idea I have had for many years, and I always thought that I would probably need to make the game with very simple graphics, since I would likely be making it alone.
I am a very good non-professional artist and I would be making the art myself most likely.

I imagined my game like these examples. This is what I have thought I would shoot for.
Low Poly / Cartoony:

Take note of the trees and plants:
https://www.unrealengine.com/marketplace/tower-defence-and-moba-pack

I thought if I was lucky I would be able to make a game with graphics closer to this:
**The Witness:**The Witness first official gameplay trailer - YouTube
But instead, perhaps I could make realistic graphics like this, which is something I might prefer.
Realistic:
https://www.unrealengine.com/marketplace/nature-package
Open World Demo Collection in Epic Content - UE Marketplace