Post processing in Split-screen

This is a long standing issue that has been reported many times. I’ve decided that instead of waiting for Epic to fix it I should look for ways to fix it myself or see if someone in the community would be willing to help fix it.

To summarize, my main issue is that bloom does not work when you add a Split-screen player. This is bad because my game is split-screen only and has a tron type style to it. Tron without glowing lights is,… well you get the idea.

Could someone point me in the right direction on where to look to fix this? I’m pretty new at working with the engine code and I don’t know where to start looking.

Reports of the issue:

Hi Voren
Try it!

UnrealEngine 4.8.1
GameViewpoertClient.cpp
line 851
before:
EngineShowFlagOverride(ESFIM_Game, (EViewModeIndex)ViewModeIndex, ViewFamily.EngineShowFlags, NAME_None, SplitScreenConfig != ESplitScreenType::None);
after:
EngineShowFlagOverride(ESFIM_Game, (EViewModeIndex)ViewModeIndex, ViewFamily.EngineShowFlags, NAME_None, false);

However, this treatment is not formal. I want you to understand.

I do remember something, somewhere in the code mentioning that Motion Blur, Lens Flares and Bloom are disabled in Split Screen because they don’t work correctly. I would try enabling them to see what happens. If it doesn’t work you may have try make your own Bloom implementation using Post Process Blendable materials.

I changed the line provided above and it seems to work in splitscreen, I couldn’t seen any strange things.
Is there any information what exactly is not working correctly, because I also found in the source code that these effects are disabled because they are not working correctly but not what exactly happens.

The post-processing effect probably bleeds between viewports, but that’s just a guess on my part. Splitscreens are probably rendered in one pass or something as an optimization.