Beginner Question - PlayerController

Hey Everyone,

I am a beginner to UE4 and am trying to create a simple 2D Side Scroller type game to learn the engine. As a programmer, I would like to take advantage of UE4’s C++ functionality rather than just purely blueprints (although it seems like you would generally be taking advantage of both). Right now I’m just trying to get my feet wet by recreating something like the 2D Side-Scroller Template Project (the code version) that comes with UE4 in order to get a handle on the basic architecture of the engine and then build off of that.

I am currently trying to set up my player character and am pretty confused around the “PlayerController” aspect of the Character. I have read how the architecture works and that all makes sense to me but it seems like the template projects (First-Person, Third-Person, Side-Scroller) do not have a “PlayerController” class anywhere yet the player input still obviously controls the characters somehow. I’ve been following the Setting Up a Character guide and under the “Setting Up a Player Controller” section it says:

However, I cannot seem to find this PlayerController either as a C++ ‘script’ or a Blueprint. I’m not sure if I just don’t understand how this works or I am missing something or the projects have changed since this guide was created. If anyone could shed any light on how these classes work together or what is going on in these template projects, I would really appreciate it.

You are correct that Epic is not currently including a PlayerController blueprint, and I do think they should address this post of yours :slight_smile:

I agree that all the templates should come with a blueprinted PC :slight_smile:

I can verify for a fact that the 3rd person C++ template does not come with a PC BP

I was going to mention it on answerhub but you’ve posted this, sooo let’s wait for it to get some Epic attention :slight_smile: