How do i make cloth?

I’m fairly new to Unreal in general, i’m wanting to make some physics curtains that can be effected by wind ect but i don’t know where to begin, is this something i can create in 3ds and import straight in? or do i need nvidia apex lab?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks.

You need nvidia apex to create cloth assets -> ?v=Vp-2owf695Q

1. Create your skeletal mesh
  2. create the apex part
  3. impor the mesh
  4. in the skeletal mesh editor you can import the cloth asset

Hi,

I used your way of importing apex part, but once in UE4, there is no collision or even cloth simulation. I see the cloth in without any problem.
Should I turn on anything in UE4 to activate the cloth? If I check Simulate Physics, the Physic asset take over but the cloth sim doesn’t happen either.

Thanks.

In the skeletal mesh details panel make sure you have selected the clothing asset.

Here is what I was playing with just yesterday :stuck_out_tongue:

://i60.tinypic/2lagfud.jpg

APEX data is loaded into a skeletal mesh and can be associated with a particular section / material. Once associated, the original section’s triangles are hidden and the render data from the APEX file is used instead. You can reimport the FBX and the APEX data will remain. You can also reimport the APEX data at any time. Selecting “None” in the material’s Clothing combo box or removing the APEX asset from the mesh will recover the original FBX vertex data for the section. With multiple submeshes in one APEX file, it’s possible to have multiple sections simulated as a single piece of clothing (eg a jacket with a metal button material and leather material).

1. Import an FBX file for your skeletal mesh and open it up in Persona.
    Persona.jpg
  2. Choose “Add APEX clothing file…”
    Select an APEX clothing asset file that corresponds to your skeletal mesh. It can contain multiple submeshes.
    Rename the Asset Name to something sensible if you like.
    Persona2.jpg