[WIP] Pose Based Animation Blending - (Overgrowth Style)

Hey all,

I’ve been working on trying to reproduce something similar to the pose based animation system created by David Rosen (seen here during his GDC talk last year: http://www.gdcvault.com/play/1020583/Animation-Bootcamp-An-Indie-Approach) combined with foot prediction to aid in the placement of the feet across varied terrain heights.

I’m no programmer, so it’s all been done 100% in blueprints.

The system blends between four poses based on the speed the character is moving, with another 4 poses for the walk cycle.

This is the system in action:

This is awesome! Care to share how you made this! This would really help a ton!

should be intergrated into the engine by default :slight_smile:

looks great to me

I’m a little busy with deadlines this week, will try and post a breakdown soon though :slight_smile:

It’s not just setting up IK in the engine is it?

not afaik, in udk there was a foot-placement-node for the animtree which is totally missing in UE4 like a lot of the othere animtree nodes so i think we’ll have to wait and see if zyrus shows us how he did it

IK gets added in on top of the animation to help predict the placement for the feet.
This is how the animation looks before IK (showing with and without proper blending):

nice work !!

I’ve to recreate that talk in blueprints, but I had some issues getting it work, mind explaining how you are approaching it?

I’m sure many people would pay good money to have Overgrowth style movement and animation in blueprint form, myself included. Would be cool to see on the market.

My plan is to release it at some point, although that is quite far off and is very much a WIP at the moment. :slight_smile:

As for how I am approaching it, I’ll post a breakdown of some of the blueprints later in the week (This is actually part of my dissertation work and I need to wait until it has been submitted before I can share it all).