Get Character Rotation Rate

Iv’e been making a third person locomotion system using UE4’s movement component. I need to get the current rate of rotation (yaw) for the character, and return it as a float so I can use it to drive my turn in place animations as well as my Run lean left/right animations. I know the movement component lets me get its velocity in the anim graph, but I haven’t figured out a way to get its rotation rate. I also know its a property that you can change in the character movement component details, but that’s about it. Is their a way I can do this either in my Character BP or my Animation BP? Any help would be appreciated! :smiley:

PS. I am an animator, not a programmer, and am still learning Blueprint :confused:

Thanks in advance!

In character BP " Get Mesh > Get Actor (World?) Rotation > Break Rot" - There’s your Yaw :wink:

Will this get me the speed of the rotation? I tried this but It doesnt seem to work. Im not concerned about what direction he is facing, but instead I need the speed of the rotation. So when he is turning, the float will give me the rate at which he is turning.

You could probably math-hack it by subtracting the current yaw from the last known yaw every tick.

Do you have any suggestions on how to do this? I’m no programmer. It makes sense but I’m not sure how to go about doing it.

My Guess

Set a Var - Current Yaw

When you go to check the next , check the current YAW against the “Current Yaw”

That way you will get a float of the difference.

** Look at this ***

fa2e9e0f906a153e12f42d2a337a67c0f1723c00.jpeg

Do not know how to use it. But may help

Got no idea what that does. I tried it but it didn’t work.

The easy way to do it: create a function. Call it, say “GetYawSnapshot”. Give it a single float output.

Inside of it, Get the actor rotation, break it, and take the Yaw value and feed it to the output.

What this will do is get, and return, the player yaw WHEN THIS FUNCTION WAS CALLED.