How-To Hide anything that enters a certain area/space/volume?

Hi guys,

I’m working on a prototype for a game, and basically my problem is, I need to make certain players/objects/things invisible to other players.

Think of a transparent space-ship, with players inside, but you can’t see them. However the players inside the ship can see through the transparency of the ship and are able to see other players.

I’m new to UE4. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
plorax

In the details of the object you can click hidden… If you want it to be a event as in the player walks around the corner and something appears behind them then you will need to work out a bp for that… I haven’t really gotten to far still struggling with the ground, but those are the options I know about.

Well try playing with the Visibility variable

Basic Example here
Create a cube mesh in the lvl then click on it and on the Details pane (on the right) uncheck visibility
Create a trigger box in front of it
Right click on the trigger box and at the bottom choose set Event and choose OnActorBeginOverlap
It will open your Lvl Blueprint
OnActorBeginOverlap Set visibility on the target Cube and check the new visibility box
then
OnActorEndOverlap Set visibility on the target Cube and uncheck the new visibility box

This way the cube will appear when the actor walk over the trigger box and will disappear when the actor walk out of the trigger box (your entire ship could be the trigger box)

Like this (I suck at explaining)

13c8cdf2bdf734be112235c2bdcca1a783d0e69d.jpeg

You can then work from that and try to create what you want… very basic stuff but thats all I have

What he said :slight_smile:

Lol @ Drixil

Thanks guys, I will try that! Will let you know how it turns out :slight_smile:

I’m wanting to know about this too. Anyone know how to make a mesh appear as a fade in?