What is the actual meaning of "Authority"?

Lately I’ve been having some issues with the networking aspects of the unreal engine and I think quite a bit of it boils down to a faulty understanding as to what “Authority” means. My background is in Java programming and my networking experience has been with programming a client and server separately. When I was dealing with networking then, the setup was as follows

1. Client presses a movement key. Checks locally to see if they would collide. If not…
  2. Move client locally, then…
  3. Send a message to the Server to say the Client is moving.
  4. Server gets message, checks collision, and responds with “Ok to move” (or “Move invalid, go back to x,y”)
  5. Client gets message from server, either “OK” or “Go back”, processes it.

Ok, so there’s a very obvious distinction between client and server. They don’t even run the same code, so it’s really hard to confuse them.

In the Unreal Engine 4, if I go and set the number of players to “2” and don’t check off “Dedicated”, one of the clients that gets loaded is a listen server client. So… it’s a client that is basically acting as the server, the authority for the game being run. If “Dedicated” was checked, both clients would simply be clients. This is all well and good.

Now my questions begin. When is the appropriate time to use the “Authority” switch? I’ve been told, “Whenever anything imperative to the gameplay is being calculated or processed”. Makes sense that the server should approve all game changes. Character movement is a pretty important aspect of gameplay. The server should be the one to say “Yes, the player can move here”. However, if you throw that switch between a movement input event and a “Add movement input” to a character, making sure that it has authority, your client will not move (even with replication enabled in the Defaults tab). In this case, it sounds more like “Only the server can move”.