Create button for actor interface

Hi guys,
I’m new to UE and so far I love it :slight_smile: however I can’t figure out how to do something and since search didn’t helped I decided to ask here.

I’m making a blueprint actor for small grass patches that are placed manually in the level and you have the option to choose different meshes, different scale and different rotation for each instance that’s placed in the level.
Now I would like to have a button that when pressed it randomizes some of these properties but I can’t manage to find a way to create a UI button using blueprints.

Randomizing the properties is not the issue and I can get a the same functionality if I use a bool that I toggle on and off but having a button to press on the actor interface would be more pleasant.

Thanks,

I did a tutorial for a basic button setup for your HUD class. Take a look, it might be what your looking for.

Button Tutorial

Edit: Are you referring to a randomize button inside the editor? or in game?

Hi pattym,

Thanks for the help but I probably didn’t explained well enough - I’m looking for a way to create a button on the actor user interface to randomize it inside the editor,
here’s a quick mock-up of what I’m referring to:

201281-randomizeeditorbutton.png

So I guess there’s no way to do something like adding a button on the actor UI to trigger an action inside the blueprint?

Not that I’m aware of, there probably is though as I believe the whole UI for the editor is done in slate. Your best bet would be to toggle a bool as you mentioned in your initial post.

So to make a button on any blueprint actor, what you want to do is add a collision box inside the blueprint.

Make sure your player controller has mouse events and mouse click events enabled (I assume this is already true).