EQS Fog of war/Field of vision system

I just completed a system that uses the EQS circle trace to accurate draw the visible area around the player(or any actor), represented by a mesh generated by the procedural mesh component. Where every vertex of the mesh is one of the points of the EQS(in local space).
Can easily adjust the view range and cone.

The slight lag is caused by the video capture and partially the fact that I’m running from the viewport.

Now all I need to do is use this mesh to apply a post processing effect to the non visible areas to make them appear dark. The problem is that I have zero experience with post processing. If someone could shed some light on this or point me in a direction it would be super.

Also if anyone is interested in seeing the BP for this Id be happy to share.

​​​​Google drive link to project from lower post: https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B1_mL6EWhs3yY3d3aDdFUmRfd3M

Sweet! I hope this can be of help to you. Location Based Opacity
A link to download would be nice. :smiley:

O this is really cool, I’l definetly look into this and post updates if I implement it.
30 mins and I’l post a explanation of the system and a download link.

The system explained

So lets go over the system starting at the EQS (project link at bottom).
We use the circle trace which basically traces outwards from midpoint.

From top to bottom following arrows:

Radius is view range.

Space between is the space between trace points, lowering this will make the mesh more accurate around geometry but more expensive.

Arc direction should be checked and set to two points. Line from is querier and line to is a custom contex for the look direction, I’l go over that in a sec.

Arc angle is viewcone size.

Ignore Any Context Actor is very important, without it the trace will hit the querier and will never leave midpoint.

Trace mode should be geometry, otherwise you use the navmesh and that’s just not accurate.

Line works best for trace shape.