Professional Development Firefighter (Engine Learner's) first impressions and learning Unreal.

Hi,
Part of my job is to fly around the world to various developers, quickly learn their toolsets and help them raise the quality bar on their games. As such I’ve learned and used a ton of engines. I’m good at picking them up quickly. Somehow I’ve never needed to learn Unreal 4 before.

1. I can do everything from modeling, FX, animation, to programming, so depth of systems hasn’t bothered me.
  2. I am new to C++ but as an expert in C# I went through C++ collage course work in a few days and have not found the C++ itself to be a barrier.
  3. I’ve gone though and learned every system in the documentation at a surface level.
  4. I’ve gone through almost every tutorial. I’m now recreating blueprint tutorials in C++ to ensure my total understanding of the engine before building my own small game project. Once that is done I’ll be ready to help a developer with their production.

So with the above in mind I wanted to give some feedback on my experience learning Unreal.
Overall:**

• I’m extremely impressed with the tools. They are some of the best I’ve used in the industry. They are not as specialized as some of the proprietary engines (obviously) but are an amazingly polished and functional set of tools. I wont be able to fully judge the engine till shipping something with it, but my first impressions are extremely positive great.

• Love the workflow.

• The documentation and learning resources have a long way to go. Especially your API documentation. It reminds me of learning a proprietary engine. If I didn’t have experts in Unreal to help my learn I’d be having a lot of trouble.

• The combination of sub-par API documentation, with the heavy use of macros (gross), and the lack of a scripting language makes learning the engine very difficult. There are a few reasons for this: