Scripting a new Layout

This is my first topic in this forum, I’d better introduce myself a little bit before to get into my problem :stuck_out_tongue:

Hello everyone, my name’s Rick and I am a Digital Humanities postgraduate student from Italy.I just started working on my final project with the Unreal Engine, and so far I only managed to learn how to cry in three new languages! I am not new to programming, I have been coding with both scripting and programming languages for more than six years now, but this is the first time I am really using C++ for a something that goes beyond a school project. I have worked a lot with Unity and C# recently, but as soon as I installed Visual Studio, I realized that these two software share so little that I will have to re-learn everything from scratch.

Going back to my final project, my goal is to develop a plugin that will help Museums and Private foundations to organize exhibitions, galleries and every possible type of context where they will exhibit their heritage, by simulating it in VR before they actually create the physical space. To do that, I am planning to simplify the original UE layout by removing some of the default tabs and adding some custom spaces where I will punt some default assets such as a working projector, chairs, walls, some different materials, and other stuff. I will also try to implement some basic features such as a basic crowd manager, a navigation system, or an avatar guide that will bring the users around the exhibition, but this second phase hasn’t been planned yet.