How do I properly use the get owner node?

I see a get owner node…I’ve tried using it to cast to a class BP and use it or use variables of it but I can never get anything to cast correctly. …is there something special about the get owner node?? Or a certain way it had to be used?

Thanks everyone!

Owner is varable which should hold refrence to actor that owns this actor or actor that this actor belongs to. For example character actor is owner of a weapon that he holds. In C++ you need to set owner manually when you spawning, im not sure about blueprint it would not be suppriced if owner therebis set automaticly to actor that spawns the actor, if not then you will need to set owner first :wink:

I’m not really sure I understand exactly…When u cast To characters that are spawned how do you get that to work?? I’m not good at casting…I was hoping that the get owner node would help with that problem…

Owner can be anything and in order to cast you need to expect what it is. If you set character as owner you cast to that character, if cast fails the chain of actions is breaked and flow ends.

Again owner is just a premade varable, you can set anything as owner and you cast to class you except it to be, the one you set as a owner

If you are using getOwner to find out the top-level Actor that owns this comonent, its better to use ‘GetRootComponent → GetAttachParent → GetOwner’. The reason is if you attatch an Actor to a component of anotehr Actor, simply calling GetOwner will return the wrong Actor (it will give you the old Actor not the new parent).

Once you get the Actor, you can cast it to Pawn, Character… depedning on your logic.

Ok that helps a little…