Close menu with same button as opening

Hello! I am new to blueprints and appreciate all help:)

I am currently working on a menu with the setup listed under. The menu opens when you push M on the keyboard. I was wondering if there is a easy way to close the menu with the same button? Thank you so much in advance!

thank you! can i ask what is the first node called? the one named SET is menu viable and NOT, and then again is menu visable.

thank you so much for your respons! i really appreciate it :smiley: i tried the second version, and this is how my blueprint looks like now. i will try your first method now. it did not work with the second, i dont think i did it right… the menu does not close. thank you again!

The most standard way goes like this:

The isMenuVisible keeps track of the menu status. You need to add it yourself. There are other ways of keeping track of it but this is generic / versatile.

1 Like

This way you create it only once, and then simply show / hide it instead. You can create the reference to a widget (here NewVar1) by right clicking the Return Value pin → Promote To Variable.

Technically, you could do this:

But this will create the menu from scratch every time it’s opened and could be unreliable. Best reference it properly like in the original suggestion.

1 Like

This is not working because you’re cutting Player Controller from input by setting UI mode only.

As above, it’s a new variable you need to add yourself:

Image from Gyazo

You can then Get (read) it or Set (write to) it. You can either drag & drop it into the graph or hold Ctrl / Alt as you drag to evoke get / set.

All the good stuff about variables:

Just in case.

Alternatively, you could do it like this:

343133-screenshot-10.png

ok thank you again! can i just cut the player controller? sorry for the stupid questions… :frowning:

Not stupid at all, actually. It’s just an input processing thing.