Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Many missing polygons in imported scanned mesh!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Many missing polygons in imported scanned mesh!

Hi all,

I'm having an issue importing this scanned mesh into UE. I have this chunk of scanned geometry, which looks fine in Zbrush and C4d, importing with tons of polygons missing (see attached pictures). I tried importing as FBX, 3DS, OBJ and using the C4d Datasmith plugin. I also tried fixing and flipping the normals on the mesh both in C4d and in Unreal.
    Anyone ever deal with this before? I am new to UE so I'm not sure if this is a common issue or an easy fix. As you can see, this model is around 8 million polys - I realize that's pretty high. Any tips or advice would be super appreciated!

hi, i'll suggest u to import in small set of models. and check the issue exists or not.
    Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHY...97QaoBbllHR4_g
    Behance - https://www.behance.net/UE4_Archviz

My System
    Cpu - i9 7980XE
    MB - Asus X299 Pro Se Motherboard
    Gpu - Zotac GTX1060 AMP 6GB DDR5 Graphic Card
    Ram - Corsair Dual RGB 32 GB
    SSD - Samsung 860 EVO 2TB SSD

Comment

Originally posted by ozvisual View Post
      Hi all,

I'm having an issue importing this scanned mesh into UE. I have this chunk of scanned geometry, which looks fine in Zbrush and C4d, importing with tons of polygons missing (see attached pictures). I tried importing as FBX, 3DS, OBJ and using the C4d Datasmith plugin. I also tried fixing and flipping the normals on the mesh both in C4d and in Unreal.
      Anyone ever deal with this before? I am new to UE so I'm not sure if this is a common issue or an easy fix. As you can see, this model is around 8 million polys - I realize that's pretty high. Any tips or advice would be super appreciated!