Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can't believe we still not have Datasmith for Mac users...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't believe we still not have Datasmith for Mac users...

All around the world, a big part of architecture students use Mac as their system. When I started studying people highly recommend Mac for architecture and I bought one. After five years using it for everything (Mostly rhino and AutoCad), still have some problems that Windows users don't 'cause of compatibility in plugins. If the majority of architecture students have Mac, why don't you develop Datasmith yet? Think about the future... Be open for Mac, and a lot of Mac user will join the community. Maybe the reason that you have not complains about Mac users is that you don't have many... I use Unreal when I can but importing from rhino takes for ever without this plugin.

Will be released some day? Do we have any other solutions mean while? (not parallels, not bootcamp )

Not sure what part of the world you're in, but I have rarely seen a mac user for architectural or high-end game development (which is necessary for high-end architectural real-time visualization) and I've been doing this for 15 years. Perhaps these students are attending institutions that refuse to use industry standard hardware which are windows based systems?
    Eldridge Felder

Animation/Visualization Manager
    WorthGroup Architects

Comment

I recently finished architecture school in the US two years ago. Maybe around a third of my classmates had macs. Nothing to do whatsoever with the institution as the school itself clearly recommended windows, they just liked macs. Not a majority of students, but certainly not insignificant, especially if Epic is interested in promoting unreal at the university level.

Comment