Having trouble tweaking lighting in scene with large amount of lights

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Having trouble tweaking lighting in scene with large amount of lights

I am still relatively new to Unreal and Datasmith. I am enjoying it so far, but I've run into a snag:
    I am currently working with a rather large scene with a massive amount of lights across several different light types. I need to be able to easily tweaks groups of similar lights all at once in my project, but Datasmith (from Max, originally from Revit) creates these layered, non-instanced DataSmithAreaLightMesh objects for each light source. It appears that the only way to tweak the lights is to go into each one individually, go down to the nested pointlight, and change the intensity. Having to do this to 800+ lights individually will certainly take some time. I'm curious as to how everyone else has gotten around this problem. To me, it seems the only things I can do are:
    1. Modify each light individually (will take too long)
    2. Manually replace each light with a new one (will also take too long)
    3. Use emissive materials to light the scene on the light meshes (I am testing this now and the results are less than satisfactory)
    4. Constantly jump back and forth between tweaking lights in 3DS Max and re-importing and checking them in Unreal
    I know Datasmith does not instantiate the lights currently, so what I'm thinking of as possible solutions:
    1. have some sort of method to select a group of DataSmithAreaLightMeshes and edit the intensity of the nested pointlights simultaneously. There may be a way to do this, but I haven't found it
    2. Use some sort of script to replace groups of datasmith lights with 'normal' unreal lights. Something similar to the Object Replacer script in 3ds Max (http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/sc...ect-replacer-0) would be extremely useful, but I haven't found one.