simple damage model.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

simple damage model.

this is my first time ever doing anything on here. ive had lots of ideas about different ways to have a system for damage in a game but its always a pain to code them. maybe have a simple tool in the game for different damage types and resistances and how they interact with each other? i mean being able to assign armor to reducing physical damage and how much of it is reduced.
    yes, damage management tool would be useful
    29.41%
    maybe, if it was free.
    5.88%
    i dont know what that is
    11.76%
    no
    52.94%

dont just vote and leave. comment why you are voting please.

Comment

imma bump this.

Comment

Could you point out what you are exactly looking for? There is already a system implemented for this Klick me.
        I guess resistances etc. are a very specific features of a game that are hard to implement ubiquitously.

Comment

well, for example, in league of legends all damage is decreased by a percentage that has diminished returns plus it has several types of damage sources that can be blocked or reduced by abilities. i want something that allows me to bring up an interface that deals with damage specifically where the entire line of modifiers are on a rail and i would like the option to apply those modifiers like in what order the damage is mitigated, penetration, how the particular damage applies to shields, different damage types and so on...

i want the option of both flat rate and percentage reduction.

because i want a game that allows me to design a suit of magical armor that handles microdamage well and when i need a bigger percentage reduction i can make a different suit. or even design a shield that handles railgun damage well but lasers are tricky. i want to be able to design my own weapons in the game engine and it does different kinds of damage depending on both design and settings.