Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[Feature Request][Complaint/Frustration] Blueprints/UMG unusable...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Feature Request][Complaint/Frustration] Blueprints/UMG unusable...

Skip to the TLDR; for feature request.

I've been using UE4 since 4.1, and one of the main drawing points to it were Blueprints, and the editor in general. I've done some objective C programming for iOS, and been able to create games using just code, but the process was slow for a single indie developer like me, so I wanted to get into something like Unity or Unreal. As an indie developer I don't have unlimited resources and time. I don't even get to spend 8 hours on my game a day as a I have a full time job - so even as a programmer, Blueprints and UMG have real appeal to me. In the long run I was hoping the editor would be able to help people like me create more faster.

I was wrong, at least for Unreal Engine 4 as it currently is. I need to set some parameters with my complaint before continuing though: I am primarily focused on mobile / iOS development so I can only speak from my experience with UE4 in this narrow area.

When I first began developing with UE4, I used blueprints the most with C++ when there was something blueprints couldn't do. This worked at first, but I encountered alot of time costly pitfalls. First of all, renaming things could be dangerous, as in blueprints could become unusable. As in if you tried to open them, the editor would simply crash - ungracefully I might add. At this point, your blueprint is complete junk, no matter how much time you spent on the blueprint, and sweat and tears, he's dead. Give up on him, and then rebuild him from scratch. This wasn't TOO bad, as blueprints are fast, but still, when it happened at least for me 5 times, or more it becomes depressing.