Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to solve latency and ram usage issue

Hello,

I'm new to Unreal Engine 4, following some youtube tutorials. At some point when making blueprints, the engine starts to run very slowly and my ram usage explodes. Attached is a screen capture for example.

Is it a hardware issue ? Here is my config, i'm supposed to meet minimum requirements :

Windows 10 (x64)
    Intel Core i5 6500 3.2GHz
    16Go RAM DDR4 1.2GHz
    AMD Radeon RX 480 (Software version Radeon 20.1.3)‎
    Kingston SSD M2 240G

My Unreal Engine version is 4.24.3
    I'm using dual screen, one for unreal engine and one for youtube video.

I don't know what is going wrong with that. Is there some configuration that i'm missing or some update that i need to do. Thanks in advance.

From that screenshot it's not using that much of your RAM

Comment

Here is a screenshot when i just launched Unreal Engine, without doing anything yet. It's getting well above after some time, especially for the System. It might not be related, but usually i'm not having this kind of issue elsewhere.

Comment

It says there it's only using 900MB of memory, that's not that much.

Comment

I agree, it's not that much. On the beginning everything is working fine and as expected.
          My point is after some time spent on blueprints it just goes higher and higher until the engine starts running slow and being unresponsive. That's my issue. I'm sorry if I wasn't clear enough.

Comment

You haven't shown that the memory is going too high, in the first image it was at 1.2GB which isn't that much of your 16GB total.

Comment

Since my memory usage is using 51% at beginning (second screenshot), and then goes up to 96% (first screenshot), without doing anything else than Unreal Engine but watching a youtube video, i thought it was enough proof...
              If not then i should try record a video of the latency maybe ?

Anyway, thanks in advance.