Too Much To Swallow In One Bite

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[LEARNING RESOURCES] Too Much To Swallow In One Bite

Let me start by saying I absolutely love the effort Epic has put into the educational content that they have delivered. The entire team deserves a huge round of applause for it. Go ahead, pat yourself on the back guys, you've earned it!

The one kind of global area that I think could be refined better with the learning resources, though, is in the delivery. First, when UE4 was first released, the big selling point was to be able to make a game without being a programmer. To a large extent that is mostly true! The documentation, however, is pretty much universally designed for programmers, which makes it hard for us non-programmers to sink our teeth into. Programmer and engineers both literally and figuratively speak a different language. Me personally, I'm a game designer. I'm interested in an entirely different subset of information than the programmers and engineers, and I speak a different language then they do. I *think* differently. The same is most likely true for artists, sound guys, dialogue writers, level designers, and others. I'm not saying dumb down the info, quite the contrary, I think the type of people that will generally even download UE4 tend to be fairly intellectual. But the language the information is presented in could be better geared towards a non-programming audience. A good example is data tables. https://docs.unrealengine.com/en-us/Gameplay/DataDriven. I personally always have trouble importing data tables, and then, when I get them into the system, accessing them is rather arcane. When I go to the documentation, I'm confronted with a lot of C++. Now, I recognize that programmers are the masters of electronic arcane wizardry, but they are also slippery and hard to catch without a trap. I've seriously considered stalking them with a cudgel, locking them in a basement, and alternatively administering electro