Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cant use UE or mobile development because of poor performane.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cant use UE or mobile development because of poor performane.

I installed UE today. I was amazed at how bad the performance is on the macbook pro. If I compile out a app binary the game runs fine, it's the editors performance itself that is really bad. As I am a mobile game developer testing on IOS and android are both high priority. Therefore mac is a must, windows wont cut it.

A quick google shows I'm not the only person with this issue.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foxTo0vDOTc

Does Epic intend to fix these performance issues? I dont see anything about it in the roadmap post above.

It may be because of your hardware specs, few Macs are all that capable of running graphics intensive software like UE4.
    By the way, you can test for iOS on Windows PC, the only issue is that you can't upload a completed app to the App store because that requires Xcode which is only available on Mac.

Comment

Originally posted by darthviper107 View Post
      It may be because of your hardware specs, few Macs are all that capable of running graphics intensive software like UE4.
      No it's not true at all. It's a software issue. If I install windows on the same laptop it runs fine. Check out the youtube video I linked it shows how UE is refreshing the whole UI all the time very inefficient.

By the way, you can test for iOS on Windows PC, the only issue is that you can't upload a completed app to the App store because that requires Xcode which is only available on Mac.
      I think you are incorrect on this point as well. You can test the game on a computer sure. But you cant load it on a real device for testing without Xcode. The game will perform very different on a real phone compared to a computer.