Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Your claims of Android compatibility seems like false advertising.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Your claims of Android compatibility seems like false advertising.

I am an Indie developer for iOS. I just got started with Unreal Engine because you claim to support iOS and Android. Your editor, engine, and tutorials are first-rate. This is certainly the best engine out today. The problem I have is your claim to support Android development. As it stands today, this is wrong.

I tried getting TappyChicken to work on Three devices now (I went out and bought a GalaxyTab today.) It doesn't work on any of them. I understand when you released TappyChicken, you were using updates not yet available as of the current version - 4.2.1. I also understand you will have more support for Android in version 4.3, but currently your support for android is almost non-existent, so I wouldn't claim Android compatibility yet. I know you guys are excited, but you are turning off a lot of your customers who are coming from Unity, where Android support is excellent.

May I suggest you call Android support experimental until you get the kinks out. It doesn't look good.

Originally posted by ST64 View Post
    It doesn't work on any of them.
    I suggest you elaborate a bit more OP, as "doesn't work" is not enough info to actually tell how to fix the problem in any way.

In general, if something isn't working, you'll want to provide as much information as possible on the specific nature of the problem, rather than just saying "doesn't work" which will make it impossible for anyone to help you.
    Storyteller - An immersive VR audiobook player

Dungeon Survival - WIP First person dungeon crawler with a focus on survival and environmental gameplay ala roguelikes

Comment

I think there are better ways of phrasing your statement without automatically taking the offensive.