Who uses what software for what reasons - Rocks, Trees, Grass, Characters, Textures

Hey, how ya doing guys!

I am new to the UE4 stuff and I am looking at giving it a go. I have always been interested in game design, animation and modelling and have many game concepts written out but never really done anything about it and I feel like UE4 might give me the opportunity to try my ideas out.

I am here today to ask for opinions and suggestions on what people use to make their prototype objects and characters, as well as their fully finished assets.

I am looking at getting together some really basic assets that will let me prototype before I go ahead and try to make complex and aesthetically pleasing assets and I am hoping people can give me some suggestions as to how to go about doing this.

I have some experience with 3DS and Maya but I haven’t used them for a while but I would just like some advice. I’ll get some questions down below so perhaps people can best answer them.

1. How is Sketchup for making prototype models? I heard at some point that Sketchup doesn’t make tight models. They can be exploded outward and they all separate into their individual polygons. Is this true?

2. Character modeling seems like a daunting task and I am not quite up to the challenge yet, especially when I just need a prototype character and the ability to prototype animations. Could anyone suggest any software or websites that might have some cheap or easy to make and animate options?

3. Foliage - I have read about Speedtree and it seems neat, however I also read that it is a resource hog and therefor is probably not what I am looking for. Do you know of any other Foliage generators that I could use or would you recommend making them by hand or buying them from a website?