What is wrong with this blueprint? Destroy actor

So I am completely new to Unreal 4 but not to programming. I am playing around. I am using a ‘rolling ball’ template for my game. Basically I have a cube (stretched out so more like a plane); when I touch the cube with my sphere (which the player controls) I want something to be destroyed ( I don’t care what I just want the basics; here I am just destroying ANOTHER SPHERE (not the one the player controls) in the level). Why wouldn’t this blueprint work?

P.S. nothing happens.

You can’t cast a Actor to a playerController, your cast fails. You will have to get the actors controller and cast that to playercontroler. Because playerController does not inherit from AActor

Thanks for the answer. I have some questions if you have the time: what exactly is a cast? At the moment I am interpreting it as something that makes sure the collision only counts if the thing that hits the cube is the thing I cast to. Also, does the actor have a controller? I thought only pawns had controllers.

Yes only pawns have controllers, but pawns inherit from actor. So a instance of a class deriving from actor cán have a controller.

A cast is very complicated, so I am trying to keep it simple here.

A cast tries to get a more basic class of the object you are passing it, for example a Actor inherits from UObject, so you could cast a a Actor to a UObject, so you have more basic methods, and members.

This can only work ‘up’ (to a more basic version), ‘down’ (to a more complex version) doesn’t work. A cast returns NULL if it fails, the cast node has that a part that checks if it is not NULL and then executes the corresponding branch.

This way you can use a cast to check if a object derrives from a class thus make sure it is of a certain type.

A cast also can’t work if the two classes aren’t related in a way. In example actor to playercontroller. You could however cast actor->controller to playerController.