Download

what do you guys think

I’m really new to modelling in Maya and I know I’m far from perfect but i was following a sword tutorial and i kind of went offtrack and designed my own, it isn’t textured yet and is an odd shape but i believe it could belong somewhere aha

I won’t bullsh*t you- that’s about 5 minutes after learning how to make a box in Maya.

I applaud you for trying to learn new things, it’s always difficult. I think if you tackle texturing next and moved onto another challenge after you will make great strides.

Modelling in general (in a high-end modelling program, ie: Maya, Max, etc… Not some pipsqueak of a modelling program such as Bryce/Vue/Poser)? Good start. I would make the hilt a bit longer though :slight_smile:

I could never really get into Maya myself, I just don’t like the UI :\ Wish it was more like Max’s UI. With that in mind, it should be possible (it is in Max) to set a viewport background to an image of a weapon, and then box model using a reference image. This will get you along in the next set of how-to’s, once you get the general shape you want, to use modifiers (extrude, bevel, inset, slice) on the geometry and then using vertices and lines to get a more accurate shape of what you want.

Okay thanks, this was the first actual thing I’ve really worked on but i didn’t spend to much time on it but i want to keep learning :slight_smile: thanks for the feedback

Maya was the first thing i tried and i tried blender but i didn’t like the UI. I have never worked in max :slight_smile: