What are the UE terms i need to search for on the forum

(The title should be : What should I search on the web <— I am too excited about my ideas and I have failed when I wrote it)

Hi

I am new pretty new on Unreal Engine and first I guess that I should introduce myself. My name is Andrei Cornea, I am a 3D graphic designer/modeler with a couple of years of experience. I have worked for several companies which made some games for mobile platforms and since I got the skills to create my own content, I thought that I should give a try and make my own game :slight_smile:

Usually, I like to find the solution to my problems on my own but since UE is something new to me, I am not familiar with the terms, so basically I don’t know what to search. I have asked someone if its possible to create a mobile game using unreal engine and avoid coding ( coding is like chinesse to me) and he said YES . Anyway, I wouldn’t mind to hire someone from time to time if needed.

Honestly, I don’t want to be a pain in the *** so if you don’t have enough time to answer, just by telling me what to search on the web, will be enough . I could simply ask on Facebook, but posting these questions here, I guess that will be helpful for other which are in the same situation as me

My first questions are these :

1. Drawcalls
    I have done some “homework” and I have found out what drawcalls are
    1 object with one texture(1 map) = 1 drawcall
    1 object with 1 texture (4 maps)= 4 drawcalls
    BUT 2 objects which shares the same texture with 4 maps , how many drawcalls will be ? if the texture will repeat on several meshes, how will be counted ?

Display system , grouped objects.

I will create my own models excusively for this game so , I was thinking that when I will make the buildings, instead of make each building separately, I was thinking to make several buildings at once, attach as a single mesh, which will share the same texture (with 3 maps) . See the next image for an example :