VS 2013 Intellisense Lagging And Workflow Question

I’ve been going through some of the tutorial projects today, and have noticed Intellisense performance completely choking. This is on a fairly decent machine (i7 @ 4.2ghz , 16GB RAM). I’ve been using VS 2013 for a few months now and only saw Intellisense chug this badly when Boost was configured improperly. Is there a trick I can use to get the predictive text to be more responsive?

I noticed one of the first things it wants to complain about is the #include “MyFile.generated.h” and then it just snow***** (edit: snow b a l l s is not a bad word) from there.

Also, the workflow of having to shut down the editor, compile, and restart the editor is clunky. Are there plans to improve that or is that just the nature of the beast?

Intellisense has been reasonably flaky for me in 2013, it seems better than last versions, but it seems to work well for a week, then get really slow for a day, then speed up again. I don’t think anyone here has been able to understand why it gets slow sometimes, it works well 90% of the time.

Most of us at epic use https://www.wholetomato.com/ to navigate the engine source files, it seems a lot more responsive than intellisense generally.

Thanks for the quick reply. I was worried I may have set something up wrong, but I guess this is just Microsoft hiccups. :rolleyes: I’ll checkout Visual Assist. I have noticed the lag getting much better once the files have been opened and compiled for a while.

Visual studio takes some time to build up it’s database. There is a huge load of code it needs to ****yze.

=D

Seriusly though, working with VS and waiting +10 seconds everytime you write one piece of code to check for errors is a nightmare, especially as a C++ beginner :(((