Download

Vodac, a game similar to Diablo 2...

Hello, I have been writing a story, and world building (on paper, not in a game engine) and have decided that I want to make a game.

I’m looking to make something similar to Diablo 2 in looks and functionality. I’ve played around with unity a bit, and my roommate has a college education using unreal, whereas I have no experience. I’m a fast learner so I’m pretty sure i could pick it up quick.

My project is a good bit more ambitious than Diablo 2(which took an educated team 2 years), and I know I’m currently nowhere near capable of succeeding with this task, but with our current technology I have hope(and lots of freetime)

I want this thread to keep going with me all the way to the end, so please, ask any questions and offer as much advice as you can.

I’m currently going through the unreal and unity tutorials, trying to see which engine will best fit my game. Because I’m looking for functionality and the old graphical style (isometric 2d, with some 3d elements) I need to make sure that the engine I choose will have everything I need.

I’m ready to lay everything I have on the table in this forum if I can get some support and response from the community. I also hope that by posting this, I might pick up a coder, and an artist, perhaps even someone to take care of the music eventually. I am not in a rush for these things, and understand that I need to have some work to show. So I am learning the engine as fast as i can to make some form of a prototype.

If you are interested in helping, guiding, general advice, questions, getting involved, or just hanging out while I work on this project, please leave a reply.

Look forward to meeting you all!

Well at least you’re not as delusional as most of the people that say “I have this great idea and I want a game that has 1 Billion different features, and I bet it’s super easy to do”.