UX issues with how things are exposed in the editor

Hi,

As I’ve had a lot of experience with Unity, one of the things that pops up a lot day to day using UE is how things are exposed in the editor.

I confess that I haven’t tried to do any kind of editor stuff in UE (will do soon), but there’s a few things that as a user stand out:

1) No default way to turn on/off components

Here’s an example of how things are done in Unity:
Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 11.53.29.png

As you can see, there’s a checkbox right next to the component, which allows you to easily toggle it on / off.

A lot of times you just want to simply turn a component off by default, and you either have to call it in code / bp or even worse in some situations you have to check a checkbox in the middle of the options.

2) Some really important things are mixed in the middle of other options

Since I’ve been trying out MP stuff, this is a set of things that stood up for me. Here’s how the replication details look:
Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 11.58.29.png

By default, the biggest thing that stands out is that “Replicates”, basically the checkbox that determines if this component will actually “work” is somewhere in the middle of everything else. It should be prominently displayed right at the top.

Furthermore, it should probably disable the other fields that won’t be used if this Replicates isn’t toggled on, to give a visual indication of what is affected by it. ATM this notification is only done in some attribute tooltips, like Replicate Movement, which reference that if that is on it requires Replicates to be on.

3) Some things aren’t abstracted properly

Another thing that stands out is Net Cull Distance Squared. I understand that for performance reasons the distance squared is used, but for the user it doesn’t make sense to show it like that. It should show Net Cull Distance, and then internally that gets squared and saved.

4) Disconnection with other elements (BPs)