Download

Unreal Engine4 for Outlast inspired game. Where to start?

I’m a Multimedia Studies major with emphasis on Animation. I’m looking debating between using Unity3d or UnrealEngine4 for a indie game I’d like to start building. So far it’s a one-man team, but it’s definitely a project I’d like to get started while I’m studying Maya, art, and film at university. The type of game I’m wanting to develop is a first person survival horror game in same vein as say Outlast or Amnesia. I’d like to incorporate exploration, Resident Evil-esque puzzles, very little combat (if at all), and a involving story. For someone with absolutely zero knowledge in programming what is the best way to start? I understand there is a First Person template included w/ the engine, but are there other useful templates on the market I should use? Is it even necessary to purchase templates in the market since there is blueprints since it’s better suited for non-programmers? I doubt I will be learning C++ so what is capable w/ using blueprints over C++? Also, I am using a student version of Maya and might have to resort to Blender so I can use my models commercially. How is the compatibility with Unreal and Blender?

As for Unity, there are some nice (and cheaper) Adventure Kits / First Person Shooter/Survival kits in the asset store. However, from what I’ve researched the Unreal engine offers a bit more out of the box whereas with Unity I might be relying more on the asset store. In terms of game content I would be creating my own 3d models, textures, etc. The only thing I’d be investing in with the asset store/ or marketplace is scripting material and/or templates.

For programming stuff–Blueprints are easiest to learn if you have no experience with programming. Unity has C# which is not super difficult to learn if you want to try it, but it’s not as easy to use as Blueprints.