Download

UMG Best practices?

I’ve been using UE4 for a few months now, and I’ve been using UMG since it got out of experimental. I’ve read the documentation, watched a few of the tutorial videos… I’ve gotten pretty comfortable with how I’m using UMG. I’ve been able to help a few people in IRC with some of the basic questions. The menu in my current project is fairly extensive and works really great, other than a few minor issues and it looking terrible (I’m no artist).

But I just spent about a half hour in the IRC channel talking to a few people including one I know for sure is an epic employee and is very knowledgeable about UMG. What did I get from the conversation? The fact that most of what I’m doing is wrong. :frowning:

It started with me asking about how to prevent my mouse from interacting with world objects behind my menu. The conversation went into the layering order of widgets, adding as child instead of adding to viewport, parenting, z-order, etc etc… I was left feeling very confused and frustrated. So I’m going to try and describe what I’m doing right now, and then we can dissect/discuss whats wrong, whats right, and maybe come up with a better way of doing things.

I’m using the Top Down blueprint template as a base, and havent changed any of the default settings for mouse input. In creating my top down RPG, I have these Widget Blueprints:
A main menu bar - Displays health of character, and buttons to display the character and inventory sheets, as well as bring up the main menu.
A character menu - For displaying character attributes and stats
Inventory Menu - Allows me to interact with my inventory, and equipped items. Lots of buttons and logic.

Currently I am creating and drawing my menu and inventory like this in my HUD: http://i.imgur.com/SKIfwMB.jpg

Each widget blueprint has a canvas panel and then border for positioning and defining the menu area. The heirarchy looks like this: http://i.imgur.com/2Ha1Wix.jpg