UE4 Editor and BSP lag problems

Hi.

We are two guys trying to make a game in UE4. We are currently in the phase of trying the editor and making some maps. I watched some tutorials and saw the guy using Box Brushes to create walls and floors for a house so I thought that was the way to go to create your map. I have some experience making maps in Hammer and the process in the tutorial reminded me of Hammer which seemed nice.

Now to the problem. I’m currently sitting here, 250 box brushes later, and the editor is almost unusable. It takes about 1-2 seconds for a change in a BSP to take place and if I undo a BSP it might take several minutes or even crash. So i set out to find a fix and there does not seem to be one (please tell me im wrong). I read that you are not supposed to use BSP to sculpture your map. you should rather use it to just create like all the big walls floors and ceilings. just the minimum.

My question is: Lets say you have a large indoor envoirment made out of BSP and inside that you want a small hut. If you make the hut in BSP it will take like 50 meshes. How are you supposed to make that hut? are you supposed to model it in maya and place it like a static mesh or are you supposed to make it in BSP after all? We have no modelers right now, we are only programmers so we were hoping to make some playable, decent looking prototype maps without any mayor commitment like you could in the Hammer editor. As of right now I made that hut out of BSP’s and I also put some detail on other stuff and that brings my meshcount to 250 with a rather small and low detail map. I have maybe only finished 1/4 of the level and its still too much for the editor to handle. I’m obviously doing something wrong but I can’t figure out what.

Things to note: I’m new to mapmaking in UE4. I might have missed the most basic of knowledges and if I did, please tell me.
When the editor is lagging neither my RAM or my processor is at full capacity. They are at very low usage.