Trying to understand building the engine as an artist... Help?

Hey everyone!

Here’s a bit of background so you can understand my issue a bit better:
I’m a 3D artist that’s been using UE4 for quite some years now. I understand different parts of the engine quite well, such as the material editor, sequencer and blueprints. I’m even developing a game on my free time. My knowledge stops at C++ or software development though.

The problem I’ve been running into lately (and have before) is that sometimes when I launch a project after updating the engine, or when I install some 3rd party plugin I get that horrible window stating “The following modules are missing or built with a different engine version” and it asks me to build through my IDE.
I usually get around this by just either not using the plugin or copy pasting all my assets manually to a new project created with the new version. This because I don’t fully understand what “build” actually means. I’m not a software developer and even though I understand scripting, I don’t understand the context of these things. I read here and there people talking about recompiling the engine, or building the engine, but I’m just not sure why people want to do that and how even to do it. I don’t understand why sometimes the plugins don’t just work and I need to do some weird tinkering. Sure there’s guides with step-by-step on how to achieve this, but all those assume I know some C++ or assume that I understand some basis concepts on how game engines work. In the documentation it shows how to get the engine from github, but I don’t even know if that’s what I need to make “modules missing” window go away, because I don’t understand what’s happening.