Download

Trying to recreate 3rd Person Character...

Hi all, newbie here. I’ve created a new C++ project based on third person example. I’m trying to recreate the third person C++ class they already have in there. I have done so, but when I press “Play” (both the class I created and the example character have disabled auto possess), the engine drops a new instance of the example character in the world at the player start location. What code is driving this? I understand it’s sort of a failsafe for if no character has auto possession enabled, but I can’t find how to turn that off. Just want to understand ALL the code in play here, not just what I can see. Where would I find it? Thanks in advance.

Change Default Pawn Class in GameMode. BP or C++.

https://docs.unrealengine.com/en-US/Gameplay/HowTo/SettingUpAGameMode/Blueprints/index.html

If you are starting with an empty C++ project, in the editor content browser, “add new C++ class” for the following:

• create a custom GameMode
  • create a custom Character
  • create a custom PlayerController
  • create a custom HUD

Suggest the only thing these classes initially contain is logging their constructor / destructor and BeginPlay() to insure they work.

Then in your GameMode set the custom pawn, player controller, and HUD as follows:

/**
* Main menu game mode.
* Set default mode for the map - World Settings >> GameMode >> GameModeOverride
* Set default mode for the project - Edit >> Project Settings >> Maps & Modes >> Default GameMode
*/
AGameMode_MainMenu::AGameMode_MainMenu(const FObjectInitializer& ObjectInitializer) : Super(ObjectInitializer)
{
 LOG("CTOR : AGameMode_MainMenu");

// set default pawn, player controller, and HUD
 // these can be read-only viewed in the editor:
 // Edit >> Project Settings >> Maps & Modes >> Default Modes
 DefaultPawnClass = ACharacter_MainMenu::StaticClass();
 PlayerControllerClass = APlayerController_MainMenu::StaticClass();
 HUDClass = AHUD_MainMenu::StaticClass();
}