Trying to compile a custom class and the engine is trying to rebuild itself in VS.

Hello, I’m very new to UE4 and game engines in general. I’m a student and game artist for the most part but I have wanted to delve into Unreal for quite some time. I haven’t used an IDE in several years, most of the coding I do, I compile through a terminal so I might have not set up visual studio correctly to compile my project. I have some experience with UDK where my group would write .uc files and compile them without an IDE. Basically what I’m trying to do is follow the quick start programming guide on the documentation to create a hello world printer. When I’ve added the class and start editing it within VS I set “MyProject” as the start up project as well as right click and select build on “MyProject”. From what I can tell in the output window, VS is not compiling the .h and .cpp I have created rather it is rebuilding the entire engine. Is this necessary on the initial build of a project or is there something I need to set up to just compile the classes. I have also tried just editing the class in VS and reopening the editor and selecting compile, but it throws the warning that a header file has been changed and to recompile in the IDE.

This is some of the output I’ve been getting signaling that it’s rebuilding the entire engine.

… StatsViewer.generated.cpp
1> Module.NewsFeed.cpp
1> NewsFeed.generated.cpp
1> Module.DeviceProfileServices.cpp
1> [265/854] link.exe UE4Editor-ContentBrowser.dll
1> Creating library D:\UE4\Engine\Intermediate\Build\Win64\UE4Editor\Development\UE4Editor-ContentBrowser.lib and object D:\UE4\Engine\Intermediate\Build\Win64\UE4Editor\Development\UE4Editor-ContentBrowser.exp
1> [266/854] link.exe UE4Editor-SceneOutliner.dll
1> Creating library D:\UE4\Engine\Intermediate\Build\Win64\UE4Editor\Development\UE4Editor-SceneOutliner.lib and object D:\UE4\Engine\Intermediate\Build\Win64\UE4Editor\Development\UE4Editor-SceneOutliner.exp