Download

Total Noob At Modeling, Guidance Wanted

Dear Unreal Engine Community (and any possible masters out there),

I’ve been trying to work on a game project for nearly about 1 and a half year now, and I always come to the caveat of…

I have no original character model, therefore my development is stuck in concept indefinitely.

Of course, I could work with the default character model, but it doesn’t feel…um…“my style”, to be specific. Human-styled robots are not what I want right now.
Therefore, I need 3D modeling software.
I’ve already tried blender, and after one or more days of work with it, I decided there isn’t any workflow in there that works for me.

So, I’ve been stuck for days thinking “How the heck do I create a 3D character easily!?”.

It seems to come down to this:
I need a workflow that involves geometry mirroring, with flexible/easy sculpting.

But quite recently, (this very night to be specific), I found EasyToy. Seems awesome to me. But getting it is easier said than done. The price of $199USD makes me restless. (In a bad way, of course.)

Just so you know, I am a cheap person. I like it when I can get things at an acceptable price, or in other words…free.

But it’s way of modeling seems absolutely fantastic for me! There has to be something similar out there… :confused:

So, the only thing I can suggest now is that you kindly give me advice so I can attempt to solve my problem.

-Jeremy